Remote Access to Facilis Systems
We at Facilis are receiving multiple inquiries daily from our customers on the best way to enable remote access to data, for employees that choose to work from home.
Using a VPN
If you use Ethernet to access your Facilis server in the facility, you will be also able to access your project volumes through a VPN (Virtual Private Network). A VPN may be set up through your internet router or a VOIP phone system. If you have access to the internal network through a VPN, firstname.lastname@example.org can assist with gaining access to the server from your remote desktops.
Using Cloud Storage
Another way to make data accessible to external desktops is through cloud storage. To help our customers, Facilis is waiving the Facilis Object Cloud startup and licensing fees, with no obligation to purchase after the promotional period. You only pay for the cloud storage itself. Using the Facilis Object Cloud cache volume, securely uploading your internal media to the cloud is as easy as drag-and-drop. External workstations with an internet connection and the proper credentials can access files from the cloud explorer interface, and download to their home workstations.
This offer is valid now through June 30, 2020. In order to receive this offer of Object Cloud integration with your Facilis system you must contact Sales@facilis.com to purchase. Eligible Facilis servers must be running Windows 10 operating system with Facilis version 7.1 or higher, and have a valid support contract.
Contact email@example.com for more information.
**Facilis is partnering with Xen Data and Wasabi for the Object Cloud storage solution. Wasabi has a minimum storage retention policy that means if stored objects are deleted before they have been stored with Wasabi for a certain number of days, a Timed Deleted Storage charge equal to the storage charge for the remaining days will apply. For the pay-as-you-go pricing model, 90 days is minimum retention. This means that if you delete any media that you have uploaded within 90 days, that is still counted as storage you have used. If you exceed the allotted amount (10TB in this case), you will be charged at the normal rate. Our recommendation is to not delete anything within 90 days as a safeguard.